You are here

The Damanhour University held the first meeting for the newly-established Anti-Violence against Women Unit on campus, in cooperation with the National Council for Women (NCW) and UNFPA.

This brings the number of Anti-Violence against Women Units to 28 across Egypt’s universities and governorates.

The units offer informative sessions, reporting processes and documentation of incidents of violence against women on campus.

This comes in addition to eight Safe Women’s Clinics in university hospitals across Egypt, offering comprehensive services for women subjected to violence, including medical services, as well as multi-sectoral referral to legal and social services in coordination with NCW.

The first clinic was inaugurated in 2020 in Qasr al-Ainy University Hospital, followed by clinics in Mansoura, Ain Shams, Assiut, Minya, Beni Suef, Benha and 6th of October.

The National Council for Women has signed protocols with the universities to establish prevention and protection measures on university campuses.